Our Overall rating: 5
sold gold rating starsold gold rating starsold gold rating starsold gold rating starsold gold rating star more...

The Boynton Collection

January 19, 2014

By: Carisa Kluver

The Digital Media Diet

A fabulous collection of four Boynton Books!

The Boynton Collection is a set of four popular book apps, from Loud Crow, Inc., creators of the PopOut series. Each of these four books was orignially published in print as a board book in the 1980's. The digital versions are easier to share, with lots of touchable elements that bounce slightly like a true pop-up book (and come alive with the addition of snorts, quacks and oinks). The books also features delightful narration by Billy J. Kramer, with highlighting word for word (or tap any word to hear it again). The collection includes:

The Going to Bed Book - http://digital-storytime.com/review.php?id=187

Moo, Baa, La La La! - http://digital-storytime.com/review.php?id=285

Blue Hat, Green Hat - http://digital-storytime.com/review.php?id=269

Barnyard Dance! - http://digital-storytime.com/review.php?id=605

While these titles are interactive with subtle 'pop-up' style animations, they are also short enough to make appropriate bedtime stories. The features added are just enough to make the book engaging without overstimulating a child. Loud Crow apps are also extremely well made, with simple settings and easy, swipe-style page turning - an intuitive experience that makes you almost forget you are turning digital rather than real pages. These are great apps for classroom and library storytimes, too. The Boynton Collection is the perfect app for the nursery school set; even adults will have a hard time keeping their hands to themselves!

Highly Recommended!

This app has been thoroughly evaluated by our staff. Please click on the 'star ratings' tab above, to see how it fared in all nine of our rating categories. See synopsis tab for more details about the storyline.

All reviews are of the app, not the platform/device. Based originally on iPad versions. Minor technical details may vary.


Continue to star ratings »»

Your Vote

Back to Top

The Boynton Collection

January 19, 2014

By: Carisa Kluver

Continue to story synopsis »»

Back to Top

Sandra Boynton

Loud Crow Interactive Inc.

Length (time):
20 - 30 Minutes

Based on non-digital book: Yes

Allows Own Narration:

Uses Motion: Yes

Age: 2 - 5 +

English •

Length (pages):
60 Pages


Story Synopsis - The Boynton Collection

Introducing The Boynton Collection - 4 by Boynton!! Now you can find Sandra Boynton's first four amazingly interactive apps in one convenient place, at an amazing price!

The Boynton Collection contains:

- The Going to Bed Book - Written with a mesmerizing rhyme and rhythm, and illustrated by the author with those lively and personable Boynton characters, it's the perfect end-of-the-day book for young children. 

- Moo, Baa, La La La! - Written with zesty rhyme and wry humor, and illustrated by the author with those droll Boynton characters, it's the perfect anytime book for young children

- Blue Hat, Green Hat -Three earnest animals and one misguided turkey learn colors and clothes. Though admittedly, the turkey never quite gets the hang of it. 

- Barnyard Dance! - Irrepressible farm animals join in a rollicking square dance

[From iTunes]


Continue to screen shots »»

Back to Top

Orientation: Landscape

Format: Universal


Read Myself, Read to Me, Links (under parental gate): Web, eMail, Facebook, Twitter

App Release Date:


Size: 61.66 MB

Version: 1.1

Lite Version Available: No



The Boynton Collection

Continue to videos »»

Back to Top

Other Apps from Loud Crow Interactive Inc.

Back to Top

Other Apps with similar ratings.

Back to Top

If you know of another version not listed here please let us know

iTunes Link: Kind of Version: Your e-mail(optional): You Name(optional):

Videos - The Boynton Collection

Back to Top