Our Overall rating: 4.5
sold gold rating starsold gold rating starsold gold rating starsold gold rating star1/2 gold rating star more...

Little Critter Collection #2

September 9, 2013

By: Carisa Kluver

The Digital Media Diet

A BIG collection of Little Critter!

An exceptional new app for young readers (with ten books in one) is now available from Oceanhouse Media! This is the digital version of the print books, released from 1983 through 1994, by Mercer Mayer.

This collection includes the following digital titles (click on the title to link to our review):

Just Go to Bed

Just a Mess

Just Going to the Dentist

Just Grandpa and Me

Just Lost

Just Me and My Little Brother

Just Me and My Puppy

Just Shopping With Mom

What a Bad Dream

When I Grow Up

These titles have been beloved for years in print and get a new life in digital, including educational enhancements. For the read-a-long effect, each word is highlighted as it is read. Tap on any word to hear it spoken, even in the 'read-it-myself' mode. These book apps also have ample settings for navigation, volume and even include recordable narration.

Very light animation is present in some titles, along with a few simple sound effects in the background. This is a great series for pre-readers, learner readers and children up to age 6 to read to themselves. It will likely even enchant toddlers - books for many seasons of your child's love affair with reading. All of the titles are between 3-6 minutes long on autoplay, making for nice bedtime stories.

For interactivity, most of the items pictured in the story react to a light tap with a visual image of the word with accompanying audio. For example, tap on any image and you will see the word appear with audio reinforcement. If the image tapped is also represented in the text on that page, the word(s) will highlight as well. I find that omBooks are also the easiest titles to share with multiple children since they do not feature a lot of interactivity to fight over and have very little or no animation.

In digital form, the Little Critter book apps are even more fun than they were in print. This collection is also a great starting place for a digital library. Several of the books are short enough for bedtime reading, too. This app (or the individual books) is a great addition to any digital collection for young readers.

Highly recommended!

This app has been thoroughly evaluated by our staff. Please click on the 'star ratings' tab above, to see how it fared in all nine of our rating categories. See synopsis tab for more details about the storyline.

All reviews are of the app, not the platform/device. Based originally on iPad versions. Minor technical details may vary.


Continue to star ratings »»

Your Vote

Own It
Want It

Back to Top

Little Critter Collection #2

September 9, 2013

By: Carisa Kluver

Continue to story synopsis »»

Back to Top

Mercer Mayer

Oceanhouse Media, Inc.

Length (time):
45 - 60 Minutes

Based on non-digital book: Yes

Allows Own Narration:

Uses Motion: No

Age: 2 - 6

English •

Length (pages):
275 Pages


Story Synopsis - Little Critter Collection #2

Little Critter Collection #2 features 10 popular Little Critter stories that lovingly address all the major issues of growing up. Children will easily identify with Little Critter's adventures as he maneuvers through childhood one day at a time. 

-Just Go to Bed: Playful and energetic Little Critter resists his father's efforts to get him ready for bed.
-Just a Mess: The search for his baseball mitt leads Little Critter to the doorway of his bedroom which is "just a mess."
-Just Going to the Dentist: Good natured Little Critter reassures young readers that going to the dentist is not that bad after all.
-Just Grandpa and Me: Little Critter and his Grandpa go on a shopping expedition for a new suit.
-Just Lost: It's quite an adventure at the mall when Little Critter gets separated from his mom. 
-Just Me and My Little Brother: Little Critter is looking forward to all the fun things he can do with his little brother. 
-Just Me and My Puppy: Little Critter happily feeds, walks, trains and loves his new friend. 
-Just Shopping With Mom: Shopping with his family turns into an eventful day for Little Critter.
-What a Bad Dream: Little Critter dreams that a magic potion turns him into a scary, disagreeable monster that no one wants to be around.
-When I Grow Up: Little Critter's sister imagines all the wonderful things she'll do when she grows up.

New features only available in this interactive omBook include professional narration, background audio and enlarged artwork for each scene. To promote reading in young children, individual words are highlighted as the story is read and words zoom up when pictures are touched. By combining the original text and artwork of author Mercer Mayer with features that entertain and promote reading, this omBook appeals to readers of all ages.

Recommended Ages: 2 - 5

[Source: iTunes]


Continue to screen shots »»

Back to Top

Orientation: Landscape

Format: Universal


Autoplay, Read-it-myself, Read-to-me, News on/off, Sound on/off, Pageguide, Record Feature, Links to: Web, Email, AppStore, Facebook, Twitter

App Release Date:


Size: 187.07 MB

Version: 2.1

Lite Version Available: No



Little Critter Collection #2

Continue to videos »»

Back to Top

Other Apps from Oceanhouse Media, Inc.

Back to Top

Other Apps with similar ratings.

Back to Top

If you know of another version not listed here please let us know

iTunes Link: Kind of Version: Your e-mail(optional): You Name(optional):

Videos - Little Critter Collection #2

Back to Top